Cynic Romantic

Urban Dictionary: Someone who thinks loves is a really nice thing and a great ideal, but believes that it is something that will realistically never happen for them.

 This is EXACTLY me. I love watching romantic dramas and movies, I love watching my friends fall in love, I love reading romance novels, I love LOVE. I believe it can happen to me too, for sure, but I also believe that its going to be a very very very long shot. 

You’re probably asking (or not) what brought these thoughts about. Well, a very close friend of mine who’s in a happy, stable relationship (she told me this) right now tweeted something that caught my attention (it wasn’t good), and so I talked to her and asked her what was wrong. She started telling me about her doubts regarding their relationship. She told me that even if her relationship with her boyfriend is good now, she doesn’t think they’re going to be together in the future because in two years, he’d planned to move back to his hometown anyway. She didn’t want to get her heart broken again so she was asking me if she should just save herself the heart break by ending it now. Later on, she realized that either way, she’ll have her heart broken. After a while, I finally told her that what she has to decide on is whether or not the guy she’s with is worth the time, stupidity, and heartbreak. 

Why did I share that story with you? I don’t know. I guess it just kind of supports my Cynic Romantic ideas. How can someone be with another knowing that it will end? How can you put yourself “out there” knowing you’ll get hurt? How can you expose yourself to that kind of thing? 

Please do enlighten me. I’d love to hear what you have to say. I’ve never been in love, by the way. I’m 21 and I’ve never been in love. I’m not naive, I know what people are capable of when they’re in love – its just that sometimes, I can’t see myself doing the same thing for another person. I can’t see myself being stupid, or i dont know.. whatever people in relationships do. I’ve seen too many hearts broken, I guess. I probably just think this way because I’ve never been in love. Is that sad? I think its sad but I think its also a self-preservation thing. What do you think?

How many times have you been in love? What would you be willing to risk for love? Let me know! 

Leave a Reply

